top of page

Top 5 Creamiest Soup Recipes (Something For You Creamy Soup Fans)

We’ve already covered my favourite cream-free soup recipes, here at SoupedUp, and… I know, I know… some of you think soup without cream is like an ice cream sundae that’s all cherry and no ice cream.

Well, shut up you horrible lot because I’m back, as promised, with a delicious, decadent, and decidedly creamy list of the best soup recipes that the Internet has to offer.

I repeat… this list is as creamy as it gets!

Here we go, the best cream-of-something soups that the Internet has to offer:

1 - Creamy Mushroom Soup

Personally, I can’t think of anything better than a creamy mushroom soup to tuck into when I’m in need of some comfort food on a cold Winter’s day. Give me some fresh ciabatta bread, a couple of knobs of butter, and a bowl of this stuff and I’ll be nourished and happy for hours!

Jamie Oliver saved my butt by coming up with a delightful mushroom soup recipe with no cream involved (I have mushroom soup so often that I had to give up on the creamy version for all but special occasions).

Jamie is back again with an amazing recipe for mushroom soup with plenty of cream too:

 

2 - Cream of Tomato Soup

Yes, we’ve got another classic on our hands here. This soup is quintessentially British; when I think of some of the foods of my childhood then good old tomato soup comes somewhere right near the top of the list (served with buttered white bread with the crusts cut off, of course).

My favourite thing about this recipe, is that you can scale down the cream depending on how healthy you want to be. Heck, you can even substitute cream for almond milk if you’d like to go down the zero fat route (and why not, on the odd occasion).

For its versatility, here’s my favourite creamy tomato soup recipe:

 

3 - Creamy Onion Soup

When you think of onion soup, you probably think of the French variety, which is somewhat creamy thanks to the butter that recipe includes, but isn’t particularly creamy.

Its little known that, in fact, cream of onion soup is also an option and, to be frank, it brings that old French onion soup recipe on by leaps and bounds (I mean, it is cream we’re talking about)!

How do you make it? Hop on over to the below link and find out:

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/cream-of-onion-soup-4616

 

4 - Cream of Broccoli Soup

Now, this one might not be at the top of your list when you fancy a decadent, creamy soup, but I’m here to tell you that it certainly should be.

If you think broccoli isn’t the most exciting of tastes, then you’ve never tried cream of broccoli soup (which, by the way, is absolutely delicious) and I’m here to recommend that you remedy that situation as soon as possible.

How do you do that? Well, follow this great recipe:

http://allrecipes.co.uk/recipe/8811/best-cream-of-broccoli-soup.aspx

 

5 - Cream of Turkey and Wild Rice Soup

Christmas Day is literally around the corner, and we all know what that means. No, I’m not talking about Gran getting tipsy on the Christmas bottle of Baileys… I’m talking about having a massive amount of left over turkey in the fridge.

The standard thing to do, is throw it on the table with some bread and bags of Wotsits, but personally, I think we can all do better than that.

Obviously we’ve all tried chicken soup before, but I’d bet that 99 out of 100 people reading this have never tried turkey soup.

Well, guess what, turkey soup is delightful and it’s a fantastic way to do something with the left over Christmas turkey; a light lunch or dinner for Boxing Day.

So how do you make it? Check out this recipe (and thank me later):


bottom of page