top of page

Top 4 Tastiest Cream-Free Soup Recipes

I’m a big fan of a creamy soup, but when push comes to shove, I’m more of a broth-kinda-guy.

That’s probably a good thing because, as I’m sure you’re aware, all that cream comes at a price; and that price tends to manifest itself around your waistline!

Don’t worry all you cream lovers out there, because I’ll be back in due course with some decadent creamy soup recipes for you. But today, it’s all about the broth.

Here are my top 4 tastiest broth-style soup recipes!

1 - Seriously Simple Scotch Broth

This one is an absolute classic, and it’s actually my favourite soup of all time. I can’t get enough of the stuff!

It’s hearty, healthy, and so very, very tasty! Give me a bowl of this, a loaf of fresh bread and some butter to slather on it and I’ll be more than content.

Ah the simple things in life!

People think that making scotch broth is a bit of a faff, but actually it’s super-easy. Throw everything in, wait, and enjoy. You don’t even need a blender or food processor!

I’ve tried of a whole host of different scotch broth recipes in the past, but the best undoubtedly comes courtesy of the Hairy Bikers. Those guys know how to cook up a scotch broth.

Check out their recipe here:

 

2 - Healthy Mushroom Soup

If I’m going to eat a creamy soup, then cream of mushroom is usually the top of my list. For me, there’s nothing more cosy than a bowl of creamy mushroom soup when it’s cold, rainy, or both outside.

The problem with that is that, here in the UK, it’s almost always cold and grey and that means that my calorie-intake goes through the roof!

That was until Jamie Oliver came to the rescue!

I stumbled across his delicious and healthy mushroom soup recipe, and never looked back. Well, ok, I must admit I do look back from time to time... I mean, we all deserve a little treat now and again, right?!

Here’s the recipe:

 

3 - No Cream Leek and Potato Soup

Another firm favourite of mine, is good old leek and potato. It’s not exciting or imaginative, but it just fits like an old pair of shoes (though frankly it tastes better)!

Again, though, the cream can be a problem when you’re the kind of person who piles on weight.

No worries, because you can whip up a delicious leek and potato soup without a single drop of cream.

Find out how at the below link:

 

4 - No Cream Tomato Soup

You can’t get much more basic than a good tomato soup. It’s a staple in my house, and that’s why I found myself trawling the Internet looking for a healthier variation of the classic cream-of-tomato soup recipe.

I first realised that a rich and tasty tomato soup was possible to make without the cream, on a lunch time visit to Pret a Manager. Their Souper Tomato soup is rich, delicious, and vegan (that means no cream, to all you dedicated carnivores out there)!

Here’s the basic recipe (as a bonus, it’s super-easy to make):

bottom of page