top of page

Top 5 Exotic Soup Recipes By Gordon Ramsay

Gordon Ramsay’s middle name ought to be Marmite. You either love him, or you hate him (personally, I’ve got something of a soft spot for this straight-talker of a chef).

If the man himself is something of a take him or leave him kind-of-situation, then I think you’ll find that this carries over into his soup recipes.

Gordon clearly favours the exotic when it comes to his soups; you won’t find any leek and potato here!

For me, that’s a good thing.

I love a nourishing bowl of the traditional favourites, but I’d choose a spicy, taste sensation of a soup from Libya than a comforting old bowl of British broth!

If spice and surprising flavours are your thing, then Gordon’s soup recipes will be right up your alley (whether you like the man or not).

Here are 5 of my favourite soup recipes from Gordon Ramsay, so fire up your hob and plug in your blender… you’re in for a treat:

1 - Spicy Mexican Soup with Tortillas and Salsa

I love my soup (as I’m sure I’ve made abundantly clear), but if you tell me that you’re serving me tortilla chips then I’m interested; soup or none.

I don’t know if you’ve ever been to Mexico and tasted fresh tortilla chips and salsa, but my goodness! If you ever get the chance, then you won’t believe how amazing they taste (and you’ll never look at a bag of Doritos the same way again).

But I digress… what about the soup?

Well, in Gordon’s words: “It’s hearty, delicious, robust” and “served with some tortillas and a wonderful salsa, it’s almost like a complete meal in one”.

Check it out below:

 

2 - White Bean and Vegetable Soup with Feta Cheese

There’s nothing more hearty than a bean-based soup (well, maybe lentils, but that’s tantamount to the same thing anyway).

If you ever have a vegetarian coming to dinner then bank on beans; that’s my motto.

Anyway… what does Gordon have to say about this one?

Well, it’s “simple and delicious” for one thing, but the best part is that “once it’s made, it just sits in the fridge getting better and better”!

As an added-bonus, Gordon will also let you know where almost everyone goes wrong when cooking leeks:

 

3 - Watercress and Spinach Soup

OK, this top 5 isn’t purely the domain of those who are adventurous with their soup. We’ve got some less spicy options too, and this is one of them.

Watercress and spinach soup is super-delicate, extremely good for you and, don’t worry, it’s plenty tasty enough too!

Gordon’s enthusiastic about this one: it’s “incredibly healthy, packed with iron and vitamin C, but more importantly it’s straight-forward, uncomplicated and you can have it hot or cold”.

Keep watching, and you’ll also learn the trick to cooking a soup that contains potato “ten times quicker”!

 

4 - Spiced Sweetcorn Soup

We’re back onto something decidedly more exotic here.

This spicy sweetcorn soup makes very good use of coriander and cumin seeds to create an aromatic delight that you’ll literally be itching to grab from the hob and splash into a bowl!

As Gordon puts it, this soup is “amazingly satisfying and packs an amazingly aromatic punch”.

 

5 - Coconut Glass Noodle Soup

We don’t tend to do much with noodles, when it comes to soup at least, on this side of the pond. Our North American friends, of course, love their chicken noodle soup.

But when it’s particularly cold and frosty outside, you’ll often find me huddled over a large bowl of ramen in any Japanese restaurant that I can find. The noodles fill a hole, and the soup gets you feeling nice and toasty.

The secret to this one? Gordon says that’s “lemongrass – first bashing it with a knife will release its wonderful lemony flavour and scent”.

You’ve got to try this one, check out the full recipe below:

 

And there we have it… 5 super-tasty and exotic soup recipes from Mr Ramsay himself.

As always, I’d like to leave you with a smile, so I’ll bow out with a video of Gordon explaining to a hapless restaurant owner that “Soup of the Day” means a different soup every day (yes… every… single… day…):

bottom of page